A heavy yoke?

One might view being a faithful Catholic as burdensome. The myriad feasts, solemnities, and other “holy days of obligation.” The requirement to attend Sunday Mass. Additionally, there are always opportunities for prayer and worship — daily Mass, the Rosary, the daily Office.

I am often harshly critical of ornate rituals, or the celebration of events that may, or may not, have happened (e.g. the feast for the Assumption of Mary). And yet, even something that can easily descend into idolatry has, at its core, the worship of God if it is approached correctly.

As for the “obligation” end of this: the Catholic Church does, indeed, formally require some things beyond what, say, my Baptist church does. Weekly attendance at Sunday Mass, for instance. Every major feast and solemnity.

And yet, when you come down to it, in my Bible-based church, we have no less of a set of obligations to “pray without ceasing.” Jesus, in his earthly ministry, laid out a program for us that is, frankly, hard. At least

Matthew 11

28Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. 29Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.”

| technorati tag | |

Leave a Reply

