Everything else

“I believe in Christianity as I believe that the sun has risen: not only because I see it, but because by it I see everything else.”
— C.S.Lewis, A Mind Awake.

Had I seen this before I became a Christian, I’d have scoffed. My training was in things you could build; things you could touch, feel, know existed. Concrete, actual things. Things that could make big holes in targets or blow up other things.

Christianity was just a word, at best a concept, some nice, gentle precepts from a First Century rabbi who was killed because he disturbed the establishment of the time. Christianity had nothing to do with me, except as an annoyance; old women reciting the Rosary; candles; saints’ days that were an excuse for what looked like idolatry.

What a difference belief makes. Christianity is just as C.S. Lewis’ taut observation says it is: something that we both see, and it becomes the measure of everything else in our lives. I would go Clive Staples one better: I don’t distinguish between Christianity and “everything else.”

Christianity is “everything else.” Else it is nothing at all, to paraphrase C.S.

Leave a Reply

